Buxted Parish Council

Buxted Parish Council includes local government responsibility for Buxted, High Hurstwood and Five Ash Down. Full council meetings take place on the second Tuesday of the month. See here for full council meeting dates and times and agendas and minutes.

Buxted Parish comes under Wealden District Council, which in turn comes under East Sussex County Council. Buxted Parish covers some 7,000 acres with an electorate of about 2,500 out of a population of 3,200. The parish is divided into two wards – Buxted/Five Ash Down (10 councillors) and High Hurstwood (5 councillors). Councils are elected for a term of 4 years – currently running from May 2015 to 2019. Parish Councillors are also responisble for specific areas of the Parish in terms of planning and serve as chairs and representatives on various sub-committees on the Parish Council and on other local administrative bodies and organisations, such as school governing bodies and the Ionides Trust Management Committee.

Buxted Parish Plan