Local Government News September 2018


All our political boundaries are in a state of flux.


County Council

New boundaries for East Sussex County Council were agreed in 2016 and implemented for the 2017 elections.

The total number of County Councillors was increased from 49 to 50. The changes were motivated by equality of numbers across all Divisions, as they are called at County level, linked to community identities. In the Wealden Council area there are 15 County Councillors. The average electorate is 8600. In some cases, County Divisions cross Parliamentary Constituency boundaries. All or part of 12 of these are in the current Wealden Constituency.

However, County Divisions are well aligned with District Council Wards with 3 wards to each Division.


District Council

New boundaries for Wealden were agreed in September 2016 and will be implemented for the elections in 2019.

Wealden will be represented by 45 councillors, 10 fewer than now. This is based on how many councillors the Local Boundary Commission thought were needed to do all the necessary tasks and it will reduce costs.

The wards will align to County Divisions and there will be a reduction in the number of Wards represented by two councillors. The average number of voters per councillor will be 2894. A major factor in the changes was again to equalise the number of voters in all Wards.


Parliamentary Boundaries

There has been a lot of consultation on Constituency boundaries. We expect the Boundary Commission recommendations in the Autumn. It will then be up to Parliament to decide.

Boundaries may not change if the House of Commons vote them down. If they do go ahead, it is likely that the Wealden constituency will disappear, with the Crowborough area going into a new constituency with Tunbridge Wells and a new Uckfield and Lewes constituency.

But many a slip twixt cup and lip.


Local Wards

For these reports, I try to be entirely non-party political but I thought it would be useful to let you know about Conservative candidates for our area.

For the new Danehill and Fletching Ward which includes Isfield, Piltdown and Chelwood Gate the 2019 candidate will be Roy Galley.


For the new Maresfield Ward, including Nutley and Fairwarp, the candidate will be Peter Roundell.


For the new Buxted Ward, including High Hurstwood, the candidate will be Toby Illingworth


Roy Galley   September 2018


Your local Councillors.


Roy Galley.                   cllr.roy.galley@eastsussex.gov.uk


01825 713018

Peter Roundell.            cllr.peter.roundell@wealden.gov.uk

01825 722030


Michael Lunn.                Cllr.michael.lunn@wealden.gov.uk


Toby Illingworth             cllr.toby.illingworth@wealden.gov.uk

01825 732115

Posted in Featured Stories